Dream the dream, or not?

13 Sep

Right this moment I’m watching X Factor UK. It’s… fascinating. I never know whether I’m more intrigued by the people who can’t sing and make complete idiots out of themselves or the ones that really blow my mind because they are just that good.

Watching the bad auditions on X Factor is like looking at a trainwreck. You know you’re going to regret watching, you know you shouldn’t be doing it, but yet you just can’t resist. I wonder what those people think when they watch themselves on tv. Do they realise just how bad it was? Or do they still think the judges got it all wrong and they really are the best performers on earth.

And then there’s that one audition that makes you look up and sit there with your mouth open. Where has this talent been hiding? What if these shows never existed? So many great voices would never have been heard.

What I admire about the contestants, good or bad, is that they dare to dream, they have a passion. That ultimate dream. Do I have a passion like that? To be honest, the answer is no. I want to be good at what I do, I like my job and I like my life (well, most of the time anyway) but do I have my dreamjob? I don’t think so. Do I know what my dreamjob is? I don’t think so. I know that I would love to be an event planner, but that’s such so difficult to get into, it’s not something I’m actually aiming for. I love travelling and do that whenever I can.

Is it a bad thing that I don’t have a dream and/or passion to chase after? Maybe it’s a good thing to just be happy with what life gives you and be the best that you can be at whatever it is your doing? It’s great when you want to go for a dream, but what if that means you can’t appreciate those things you already have achieved?

Maybe I’ll discover my ultimate passion, my dream. Who knows. I’m not going to wait for it though, I’m going to enjoy life as it is and as it comes and be the best I can be at whatever I do.

And in the meantime, I’m going to watch the trainwreck known as X Factor, watch people try to accomplish their dreams, win or fail.

Leave a Reply

