Holiday is over, back to work. Hmphhhh.

14 Sep

*hachooooo*. Cough, sneeze, splutter. Sorry, had to get that out of my system.

Today was my first day back at work after a week off and a great trip to Paris. With watery eyes (and no, it wasn’t because I felt emotional about going back to work) and a runny nose I got into my car this morning. First there was the horror of waking up at 6am. I looked outside… and it was dark! Yuck! Then I went outside…. and it was wet! Double yuck!

After a long drive to work (why is it that once it’s raining, people forget how to drive?) I got there. I got my stuff out, turned on the computer and got myself a nice cappuccino. Well, it’s not really nice, but it’s still better then well, no cappuccino. After catching up with some of my colleagues I made a brave move: I opened my email. Eeeeek!

My computer actually froze, does that tell you enough? Unread emails are listed in red, read emails are listed in black. I didn’t see black. At all. Just red. So what did I do? I rolled up my sleeves (not really, just figuratively speaking) and… got myself another cup of coffee. More liquid courage was needed to tackle my inbox. Just as I was taking one more breath and convincing myself that it’s not that bad, I had to go to a meeting. A meeting? Why didn’t I know about that? Ah, it was in my email. That explains it.

A one hour meeting and then, it was time. The next hour I was staring at my screen, reading dozens of email, wondering why I even got half of them. Delete, delete, delete.

My eyes were getting dryer and dryer and the air conditioning didn’t help. So I felt like I could fall asleep any minute. Some fresh air during my lunch break would do me good I decided. Until I looked outside and it was raining harder than hard. “Shall we order lunch?” someone suggested. Good idea! Who needs fresh air anyway *yaaaaawn*.

One after-lunch dip later, it was time to get back to work. Or at least, make an attempt. Right, time to get started on the stuff that got left for me during my holiday. So I thought. Phonecall after phonecall, and my pile of work slowly moved to the corner of my desk. I swear it was looking at me. Growling at me. I think I even growled back at some point hmmm.

And time went on. Eyes getting dryer and heavier by the minute, nose getting more and more blocked by the second. Is it time to go home yet? I want to sleep! Around 3PM I suggested to my colleague that we would go outside for a second, to get some fresh air. Hmmm, still raining. Instead we went into the parking garage, to see if we could pick up some fresh air. Not really! A cold butt from sitting on a stone wall and the smell of diesel, that we did get. Obviously we didn’t stay out too long. Back to work it is then.

I actually managed to get some things done, although The Pile From Hell was still staring at me from my desk. I locked it away in my locker, hahaaaaa! Clever huh? It will be there when I come back in the morning. Hopefully with more energy than today.

So I went home at 5.30PM and of course, got stuck in traffic. Quick trip to the supermarket to pick up food, make some pasta and then sit down to write this blog before I start typing with my eyelids.

Hopefully, this is the end of my day but maybe my colleague/friend needs me to pick him up after college, because he managed to forget his house keys and can’t get into his house. I’m so going for the Friend of the Year Award. Pleaaaaaaase, have mercy on me and let me stay in. Pretty pleaaaaase! It’s dark, raining and windy outside and I just want to play Farmville (yes, I’m guilty), listen to my Il Divo playlist (yes, I love them, I do sing along and no it’s not good) and enjoy a nice glass of red wine.

And lo and behold! Just as I’m writing this, he texts me to say he’s fine and doesn’t need me to pick him up. At least this day ended with one good thing then, woohoo!

So, next step is to take out my contacts, take off my make up, pull my hair back in a ponytail and pour myself that well deserved glass of wine. I’ll probably be asleep after the first sip but who cares! It’s the thought that counts.

And tomorrow? I get to do it all over again. Cheers!

One Response to “Holiday is over, back to work. Hmphhhh.”

  1. Mindless Rambler September 14, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Well they say the first day back is the hardest so at least you’ve got that one out of the way! I’ve managed to avoid Farmville so far, Pet Society and Fairyland not so much LOL

    Have a good day tomorrow and hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

