Who knew!….

15 Sep

that today would actually be a good day after the disaster called “yesterday”.

I woke up this morning, realising my cold is nearly gone, yay! When I left home this morning, the sun was shining, shock! Arrived at work on time and I would love to say that even the cappuccino tasted better, but that would be a lie. Can’t have it all, right?

Right before lunchtime a guy came in, who does chair massages. Our management arranged that, sweet! Who wants a 15 minute massage? Meeeee! So before my lunchbreak I had a relaxing massage, then went outside with my colleague and did some shopping. Sigh, so far so good.

Did it get better? Yes, it did! Some of us participated in a raffle and as a thank you, we got vouchers: a 3 day mini-cruise to England, Newcastle to be exact, second person gets to go for free. I say: good deal! I was talking to a colleague about this and we decided to go together. Mind you, I’ve only known her for 2 months but hey, she likes fun, I like fun, so that should be good. Fun times ahead!

And yet, the day got better. My colleague called her mother, who just had her grandmother over for tea. So they talked about our plans and it turns out her grandmother won a prize in a puzzle competition. Her prize? A 3 day mini-cruise to Newcastle! But it’s only valid if used before December and they happen to be in Spain then. Hmmm what to do with the cruise then?

So guess who’s now going on a FREE mini-cruise to Newcastle, including one dinner and a sea-side cabin? *looks around*. Oh, that would be me then!

You can imagine the excitement. We kind of forgot that we were at work to do just that… work. Oh well, we’ll be productive again tomorrow.

I left work on time, had a fun ride home with my colleague (he’s the one that I nearly had to rescue last night). I didn’t have to cook because I had left over pasta, I did some cleaning, some laundry and right now I’m watching football: Real Madrid – Ajax (go Ajax!). Glass of wine next to me.

Sigh, life is good. I may not have a really nice car, a huge house, a large sum in my bank account or a wardrobe full of designer wear, but it’s not about those things. My cat is sleeping on the sofa. I moved to the dinnertable so she can sleep there. Her paws are twitching in her sleep, so cute. In other words, it’s not the big things that make life worth living. That’s easy. To appreciate the smaller things, or things that just happen to come your way, that’s the real deal.

So overall, this has been a good day and I’m grateful for that. What will tomorrow bring? Who knows!
For now, I’m going to enjoy the rest of my evening.

Now if only Ajax can manage to not lose this game….

EDIT: Ajax lost. 2-0. Sob.

2 Responses to “Who knew!….”

  1. Mindless Rambler September 15, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Congratulations on your prize. You’ll love Newcastle, the people are so warm and friendly xx

  2. Esther September 15, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Thanks!

    I’m looking forward to it. I’m a (very) frequent visitor of the UK, but somehow never made it to Newcastle. Can’t wait! Even if it’s just a very short trip 🙂 Oh well, quality over quantity, yada yada.

Leave a Reply

