Changes.

3 Oct

Eek, I was internetless! Why don’t you just cut off my arms.

But, I’m back. It’s not like I had any time to write anyway. Pfff. Don’t you just hate it when real life gets in the way? Work has been mad. I work at a bank and we’ve merged with another bank. Last Friday the new teams started to work together. So people from two different banks all moved into one place. Still using seperate computer systems, different phonelines and even serving different clients. Can you spell: CHAOS?

For me, this means the last month in my job has begun. I decided months ago that it was time for me to move on. Then the whole reorganisation happened and they had to get rid of a lot of people. At the start of the selection process I made it clear that I’m not really interested in keeping this job. But the back up plan is really good I have to say. For those who are made redundant, they try to find other jobs within the bank. But there is a catch. The bank decides what they think is the right job for you. You can’t say no, becuase that would mean that you volunteer to resign. Consequence: no benefits, no income, no nothing.

If I don’t get anything before November 1st, I have to make the decision: redundancy fee and leave the bank or enroll in the so called “Redeployment Center” aka RDC. That means that I won’t be working in my current job but during a year, the bank will help me find a new job, inside or outside the bank. I get to do courses, trainings and hopefully a great job will come out of that. The best part is that you get paid normal salary for that entire year. So that’s what I’m going for.

I have a couple of great things lined up so I’m sure something amazing will come out of that soon.
It’s been scary to make the decision, but I’m glad I did. I will miss the people at work though. Last Friday we had a gathering and went out for drinks afterwards. I’m going to miss those crazy people. But I’m sure we’ll manage to stay in touch. Luckily I’m very good at that.

So, one more month. Time will fly, I’m sure. After 5 years in this department it’s time to move on.

It’s time to start a new phase in my life. Somehow these ‘new start’ moments always inspire me to make changes in myself as well. So it’s time to finally cut the c**p and stick with my diet and dust off the crosstrainer. I just did a workout, yay me!

New start. Time to invest in me. In my career, my future, my body, my mind.

One Response to “Changes.”

  1. Mindless Rambler October 3, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    I wish you luck in all that your future brings xx

Leave a Reply

