How did we do it….

24 Oct

I’m having one of those typical Sunday afternoon moments. One of those “things that make you go hmm” moments.

Sitting here with my laptop, iTunes playing, iPhone next to me. And I just can’t imagine not having those things around me. Typewriters, payphones, phonebooks, you name it. Can’t remember having to use those.

I’ve met people through the internet because of our common interest in the music of Il Divo. Thanks to that I’ve made friends for life in various countries. I’ve been to so many places, created the best memories.

Thanks to technology the world because so much bigger but so much smaller at the same time. You want information? Google it. No more trips to the library.

Downside of having everything and everyone available at all times is that people expect you to be available at all times. If you don’t reply to a text within 24 hours, you can count on a “why are you ignoring me” comment. Sometimes I just love to switch off the laptop, put my iPhone away and just read my book.

But after a while I become restless. Has anyone emailed me? Texted me? Whatsapp’ed me? Called me? Sent an interesting Tweet? Put something interesting on Facebook? Once I’ve done a quick round of all my media, I can relax and continue reading my book. Until it’s time for round 2. And so it goes on.

How did we ever do it? I can’t imagine going back to a life without all of these tools and media at my disposal. Do I want to go back? No way! That would mean no more playing Angry Birds on my iPhone!

One Response to “How did we do it….”

  1. Mindless Rambler October 24, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    Oh I’m so with you on this. I remember when the mobile phone came out and I thought I would never see the need for one, now it’s almost attached to me like a limb! Like you I have made so many good friends because of the Internet. I would go insane without these things! I do chuckle at both my girls when they are in awe about how I managed to grow up and survive with such things!

Leave a Reply

