Dating sites, hmmmm.

27 Feb

Right, I did it. I set up a profile on a dating site. I’ve been pressured into it, so it wasn’t my choice 100%. I still like “the guy” and I really hope things will work out, but I am not going to sit around forever. Some of my friends have been on a dating site for a while. One friend found her boyfriend on there and another one is going on a first date with a (what seems to be) really nice guy. So no harm in having a look, right?

So, I set up my profile. And already I have quite a few “hits”, “fans” and guys who want to share pics. But if I want to see their pics, or share my pics, or even exchange messages, I have to pay 30 euros a month for a socalled VIP membership. Do I want to do that?

On one hand, I’m hesitant to do so. I pay a lot of money and then what? Am I really serious about finding someone on there? Or am I still too hung up on this other guy. Dilemma! On the other hand I think it’s a really good thing that people are paying on there. At least you know that the people on there are serious and willing to make an effort. Well, and you know they’re not skint, lol.

I haven’t made up my mind yet. Part of me is also very curious to see who’s contacting me. So I’ll probably just cave and pay for the minimum 3 month membership. I think… Or maybe not…

Maybe I should just join a convent!

To be continued…

One Response to “Dating sites, hmmmm.”

  1. The Gods of Vice March 6, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    I can see why it might be very daunting…I know some people who met someone on sites like that and then their relationships moved at breakneck speed- I guess both sides had mutual goals in mind so they were not hampered by the usual part of the dating game because they were already looking for more. On the other hand I had a friend who regularly got dates out of the site but the majority of the morons she met on it were only interested in one thing…
    It’s a difficult one to call, but this really is becoming an ordinary way to meet people and sure…what can it hurt? Maybe once you start looking elsewhere, “the guy” will get a move on and you won’t have to look anymore!

Leave a Reply

