Driving home for Christmas?

13 Sep

One thing we all love to complain about: the weather! It never fails us, it’s always there. It’s either too hot, too cold, too wet, too dry. What would we do if we didn’t have the weather to moan about. It’s perfect to fill awkward silences when you’re standing in a lift with someone you don’t know.

We skipped summer this year and went straight to autumn. I’ve never seen so much rain in my life! Don’t bother going outside with an umbrella, because it will blow to pieces. Because it’s not just rain, it’s wind as well. Can you tell I don’t particularly like this type of weather?

Typical December treats can already be found in the supermarket. Last Friday I went to a party and around midnight one of my friends put on a song. I recognized it immediately. Can it be? He didn’t…. Oh yes, he did! Chris Rea’s Driving Home For Christmas found it’s way to the playlist. Instant depression kicked in.

I’m desperate for some summer, some sun. Do we really have to wait until next April/May? Or is the only option to move to another country? Hmmmm there’s a thought.

Then again, we wouldn’t have anything to complain about, so then where would we be?!

Ah well, guess I’ll just turn on the lights, grab my fleece blanket and start watching Christmas movies.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

