Time to say goodbye

27 Nov

Here I am, my last night in my current house. Leaving most of my stuff behind, so saying goodbye to so many things.

It’s weird that this time tomorrow I’ll be surrounded by all new stuff in a new home. Of course I bring some of my own things to make it ‘me’. But still.

My new house will only have a shower, no bath. For the first time in my life I’ll be bathless. It’s silly things like that that cross my mind. My dad used to love a particular cabinet in my house. He was diagnosed with cancer a month after I moved here. He died a year later. Before I lived here, I lived with my dad. Just him and me, after my mum died. So moving here, meant leaving him behind. That was horrible. And then he got sick. Double horrible.

And here I am, about to make a fresh start in a new house, in a new city. And that feels right. It feels good. But it also means saying goodbye and confront myself with lots of things. Material things, good memories, bad memories.

I was listening to Il Divo’s new album today. One of the songs is Time To Say Goodbye. So beautiful. And it really got me going. I need to make a lot of changes in my life. And this is the first step to accomplish that.

So, it’s time to say goodbye to my house, my furniture, my ghosts. I’ll be ok.

Leave a Reply

