Sunday thoughts

6 Oct

2 days after my first crossfit workout I went on holiday. 10 glorious, lazy days in Cyprus. Good thing I hadn’t planned anything active, because I sure felt my body! And yes, I was very thankful to find out that my apartment there had a bath. Soak and relax those muscles.

For the first time ever I kept my ‘mode’ going during my holiday. I did some walking, swimming, push ups, squats, sit ups. Not too crazy, but enough to stay active and focussed. I cooked my own meals and have to say, I did very well. Finding fresh veggies was a bit of a challenge, it took me 4 days to find lettuce. I think I’m the first person on this planet to be excited to buy lettuce!

So, a week ago I came home after a week of lazy days by the pool, reading books and thinking about life. And I came to one conclusion: I’m doing pretty well for myself. I’m learning to realise that this is the one life that I get and that it’s up to me what I do with it. The same thing goes for my body. It’s the one place that will always be a true home to me, so I’d better take good care of it and make it as healthy and strong as possible.

Last Wednesday I signed up for another crossfit class. It was 8pm, I was tired and just wanted to go home. But I went. For a second I felt bad about having to ask for a lower box to step on, when doing box jumps. The fat one can’t do it. It was school all over again. But I shook it off. I’m here to improve myself and this is just my starting point. I do have to remind myself of that.

The coach who was there the first time, was here again now. He was glad to see mee again. He gave me lots of great pointers and motivation. Another coach was great to me as I was doing my ring rows. Others can do pull ups, or band assisted pull ups. I’m not there yet, so what. It will come. I will work for it.

I’m going back again this week, and I’m still scared to go “can I do this?” but excited as well. So I’m going to keep going back, to improve myself.

I’m feeling strong. Both physically and mentally. If I can bring myself to do this and overcome these barriers, there’s nothing I can’t do.

And that is a wonderful thing to realise on this Sunday evening. Bring on a new week!

Leave a Reply

